Meet Your Park Board

The Portage Park District has been very fortunate since its inception to have high quality leaders to serve as Park Commissioners. The Board of Commissioners of the Park District are appointed by the County Probate Court Judge. The five members of the Board oversee the Executive Director, and are responsible for setting policy, developing rules and regulations and approving the budget. They serve as volunteers for a renewable 3-year term.

Regular Board meetings open to the public are held on the third Monday of the month at 5:30pm at the Park District office-Meeting Date Exceptions for 2018 due to holidays are: January 22, 2018 and February 26, 2018
705 Oakwood St. Suite G-4 (lower level) Ravenna, OH 44266
See the Record Courier legal ad section for any changes to meeting times

judge berger

Judge Robert Berger

Portage County Probate Judge Robert Berger selects and appoints Portage Park District Commissioners to serve on the Portage Park District Board of Commissioners.


Allan Orashan

Allan Orashan

Allan is a realtor who brings decades of land transaction and property management expertise to the park district, as well as serving on the Regional Planning Commission and as a board member of local non-profit organizations.


scott mckinney photo

Scott McKinney

Scott is the Director of Stewardship and Fund Administration for Kent State University with degrees in Leisure Services Management and Public Administration offering great experience and knowledge to Park District operations.


Deborah Petrone

Debbie is a Certified Public Accountant with degrees in Business Administration and Taxation, and over 30 years of business and non-profit board advising experience.



Charles Engelhart

Chuck Engelhart has over 20 years experience in parks management, currently as Director of Parks with Cleveland Metroparks. He holds degrees in Biology and Interdisciplinary studies, and is a hunter, hiker and cyclist.


Thomas Hrdy

Tom is recently retired from Portage County Department of Job and Family Services and is a licensed social worker.  He enjoys gardening, bee keeping, hiking and is an avid outdoorsman.


Portage Park District Board of Commissioners Bylaws     Download

Portage Park District Board of Commissioners Meeting Schedule

The Board of Commissioners of the Portage Park District holds regular monthly meetings as well as Special meetings as needed.
Monthly Meetings are held every first Monday of the month at the Portage Park District office, located at:
705 Oakwood Street Suite G-4 Ravenna, Ohio 44266
Meetings are open to the public
For more information, contact the Park District office at (330) 297-7728